Chai me!

Chai me!

Chai is by far my favourite tea. Don’t get me wrong I adore a plethora of different tea, but there is something about chai that calms me down, especially after an evening with a particularly cranky toddler.

When I was younger my uncle would make big batches of home made chai tea based on a recipe he picked up whilst living in India. He would bag the dry mixture up in Glad sandwich bags and distribute them around the family. I didn’t like it at first, it was far to strong and miles away from the sugary concoction I was used to, but in time the smell of it brewing away on my parent’s stove was a comforting escape; these were sandwich bags of exotic wonder! Since picking up the recipe myself I’ve tweaked it a little over time but no matter how I make it, the same familiar and delicious smell fills the kitchen for the evening.

Today’s mix:
2 cups of whole milk
3 cardamon pods
half a cinnamon stick
2 cloves
Vanilla bean (or 1 tsp of essence)
2 teaspoons star anice
3 teaspoons black tea leaves
2 teaspoons honey

Throw it all together in a small pot, sit continuously to boil then strain.

Leave a Reply

